This standard is based on Zaretta Hammond’s Ready for Rigor Framework:

  • know and own your cultural lens
  • understand the three levels of culture
  • recognize cultural archetypes of individualism and collectivism
  • understand how the brain learns
  • acknowledge the socio-political context around race and language
  • recognize your brain’s triggers around race and culture
  • broaden your interpretation of culturally and linguistically diverse students’ learning behavior

Posts That Address the Awareness Standard (updated 11/28/20):

  • The Power of Questions and Prompts x
  • Equity and Access: The Universal Design for Learning Guidelines
  • Co-Conspirators: Three Recommendations x
  • Engagement and the Interactive Read Aloud x
  • The Art of Facilitation x
  • Shifting Language, Shifting Beliefs x