When a Book Comes Along at the Perfect Time

As I transitioned from being a classroom teacher into a coaching role, I sought out trainings and books to support my learning. I discovered The Art of Coaching, by Elena Aguilar. This book, and the other books written by Aguilar, have influenced me as a leader, a coach, and as a mom and wife. I’d like to write this week about when and how each of Aguilar’s books supported my learning and leading.

The Art of Coaching came into my hands as I took on a coaching role, late in the summer. My district didn’t have formal coaching training and I was fortunate to find this gem of a book. Initially, I found the reflection, conversation, data, trust building, and coaching stem tools to be the most useful. As I’ve engaged in workshops, I’ve seen the importance of the core values, lenses, facilitation, and listening tools. Mind the Gap is a tool I refer to often, in my reflection and planning. I continue to come back to this book to take my understanding deeper and try new tools, such as the Consultancy Protocol.

When I started leading a group of facilitators in developing strong Professional Learning Communities, The Art of Coaching Teams was my “go to” tool. For many of these leaders, they took time to read the book on top of a full teaching schedule, and spoke very highly of the way it supported their learning and facilitation skills. The information and tools on: conversation skills, roles and responsibilities, setting norms, Emotional Intelligence, and conflict were extremely useful for our team. My own curiosity around protocols stemmed from this text, and I have found the power of protocols in working with both colleagues and students, as they support safety, process clarity, and equity of voice.

Onward and The Onward Workbook were books I eagerly anticipated, having read the other Aguilar books and attended several trainings given by Elena’s growing number of teammates. These books supported me as I had two more role changes and faced a worldwide pandemic. A first read of the books happened as I garnered courage to apply for, accept, and begin a district-wide leadership role. Onward helped me embrace my unique way of being in the world, embrace emotions, and work towards being more “in service to others” as a coach and a leader. A second read, this spring, has helped me navigate another job change back into a formal coaching role. The books have been integral for me during the time I’ve been at home, supporting colleagues and my own family, in our emotions and transitions due to Covid. We need resiliency, self-care, and openness to discussing emotions, now more than ever.

This weekend, Coaching for Equity arrived; I’d been anticipating this for months! I’ve been listening to Aguilar’s podcast and the most recent episode includes her reading the Introduction of the book. As I read the book, I heard Aguilar’s voice  telling her stories. I will read this book, and refer to it, again and again this year, as we continue to navigate both the pandemic and issues around systemic oppression and racism. Equity work will be my main focus this year and I have no doubt that this tool will guide me.

The writings, trainings, and tools that come from Elena Aguilar have made a huge impact on my coaching. They also supported me with the wonders and challenges of having two teenagers at home, as they grew in independence and needed different support from me as their mom. I am a better sister, friend, and wife because of these books and for all of these areas of growth I am very grateful.

Resources
The Art of Coaching
The Art of Coaching Teams
Onward
The Onward Workbook
Coaching for Equity
Brightmorningteam.com