Beliefs and Language

Sustainable change happens when beliefs change, because beliefs influence behaviors. Sometimes, behaviors need to change to help people see the potential behind expanded beliefs. In other words, I need to see it, to believe it. Awareness can also be leveraged towards changing beliefs. In well facilitated meetings and effective conversation, we can raise awareness. We can create experiences and conditions where awareness changes behaviors, which aligns with or scaffolds a change in beliefs.

Often a meeting begins with an Inclusion activity, which is designed to form a group and to transition from where we’ve been, into where we are and the work ahead of us. It is important to vary Inclusion activities to form trust and relationship, push thinking, have fun, and examine beliefs. I feel that some Inclusions should be short in length while others may take longer.

One of my favorite Inclusion activities, Banned Words, comes from Adaptive Schools. Participants brainstorm and chart words they would like banned from the meeting. Often these words are deficit-based or words that overgeneralize. After brainstorming, members make a group moan and agree to a response if a banned word comes up during the meeting. The times I’ve engaged in this Inclusion have led to laughter and a lightness, a clearing of the air, followed by a rich conversation. Banned Words also helps us examine our language, which is extremely important in forming teams and examining beliefs.

An example of a Banned Word that has caused me to be more aware is a set of words: “boy, girl, you guys.” Because a colleague had the insight to draw these words to my attention, I speak with more intention around gender. “Boy and girl” are words that disclude people, label people, and overgeneralize. By being more aware, my beliefs about diversity have expanded.

I would argue that intention to language also overlaps with Identity work. My self-examination and increased vocabulary allow me to add layers to how I define myself and to know myself more deeply. I also am better able to know that others have many layers, many intersections….and to not make assumptions about the Identities of other people.

Language, Identity work, and intention to meeting design are all important tools in our work to build more inclusive, anti-racist systems.